|
|
|||||||
| Register | FAQ | Calendar | Radio and TV | NP Shop | Search | Today's Posts | Mark Forums Read |
| Domain Name Forum Domain name forum, discuss, buy, sell, swap. |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
![]() |
|
|
LinkBack | Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 (permalink) |
|
Yep, I made this animation myself
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,423
Points: 90
|
WTF, my domain changed registrar?
I have some of my domains monitored using the free service provided by whois.sc so I was pretty surprised to find an email today saying one of my domains has changed registrar to "china-channel.com"
A little backstory, that domain was first registered with registerfly.com but I grew tired of their slow website and they double charged me a renewal, so I signed up as an onlinenic reseller and started transferring my domains slowly. I took this domain out a week ago and transferred it successfully to onlinenic but registerfly is still showing these domains in it's control panel even though they were removed. Anyway, whois.sc and other whois I've tried still show my registration details for the doman so it looks like I still control it (And it is locked with onlinenic) so while I'm not sure what's going on, it looks like I still own the domain. So, I'm not sure what to do, just ignore it? |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 (permalink) |
|
Yep, I made this animation myself
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,423
Points: 90
|
Hm. Now all the domains I transferred to onlinenic are showing up as registered through china-channel.com even though the whois hasn't changed.
It's probably a hiccup by whois.sc but it's making me nervous... |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 (permalink) |
|
Yep, I made this animation myself
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,423
Points: 90
|
Ah, hah... so I checked buyany.com and it shows up as "china-channel.com" in the monitoring system too, hear that head boy? They got you too!
Looks like whois.sc's monitoring tool is confused. Either that or china channel is hijacking all of onlinenic's domains today... |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 (permalink) |
|
Net Baron
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 44,907
Points: 8,761
|
China channel is online NIC. It's a chinese registrar with an office and support in California as well. You get the best of both worlds with OLN.
![]() __________________
Baronets (incorporating Domains for Porn and G8S) is the new name for my domain management services. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 (permalink) |
|
Yep, I made this animation myself
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,423
Points: 90
|
Ah-hah. Mistery is solved. That option did cross my mind too. Some of their english is a little bit stilted, so I figured they weren't 100% USA.
Still SCARY when I saw the first notification, and a bit scary too when I saw all the domains update with the china thing, though I figured something else must be going on by then. |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 (permalink) |
|
Net Baron
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 44,907
Points: 8,761
|
It also shows that 2257 couldn't pull down all the .coms on the net.
![]() __________________
Baronets (incorporating Domains for Porn and G8S) is the new name for my domain management services. |
|
|
|
|
|
#8 (permalink) |
|
Yep, I made this animation myself
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 9,423
Points: 90
|
Because it's a chinese registrar? I suppose they can always trouble the registrants.
Say, uh, won't the chinese government get on my case now for doing porn with a chinese registered domain name? OMG!! ![]() |
|
|
|
|
|
#9 (permalink) |
|
Net Baron
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: England
Posts: 44,907
Points: 8,761
|
No because you are just buying the domain registration - you can even use PayPal.
![]() __________________
Baronets (incorporating Domains for Porn and G8S) is the new name for my domain management services. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
![]() |
![]() |